Figure Technology Solutions (FIGR) — Value Investing Research
Analysis date: September 3, 2026 | Financial data as of: Q2 FY2026 10-Q, filed August 13, 2026 | Valuation as of: September 3, 2026 ($36.21) | Data: SEC EDGAR pipeline output + Q2 2026 earnings + public research | Methodology: Value investing research framework (business anatomy → investment case → risks and red flags → valuation → monitoring) | Educational research only — not investment advice.
0. One-Page Verdict
FIGR is a platform player in US digital consumer finance — HELOC origination volume ranks first among non-bank lenders, the business model has already demonstrated profitability, but the current valuation already reflects part of the growth expectations, so the case only improves at a better price.
| Dimension | Conclusion |
|---|---|
| Thesis type | Early-to-mid value expansion (FY2026E revenue +78% YoY, Adj EBITDA margin ~53%, on the steep part of the S-curve) |
| Object type | Future advantage — the platform is already profitable, but the advantage being priced (network effects across partners and blockchain rails) is still being built rather than realised |
| Value-creation cycle | Early-to-mid value expansion (first full-year profit in 2024, scale-up in 2025, acceleration in 2026) |
| Premium / discount | Fair premium (the "blockchain + AI" narrative supports the valuation premium, but it is not a bubble — the fundamentals back it) |
| Core investment logic | US residential-equity penetration below 5% → FIGR, as the non-bank HELOC origination leader, benefits → platform effect plus high margins |
| Valuation status | At $36.21 the shares trade on ~15.5x 2026E EV/EBITDA and ~29x P/E, above the upper end of the neutral fair range ($32), implying a negative margin of safety |
| Research verdict | Worth monitoring — the platform model, the growth, and the margins are all real, but the current price already discounts much of it; a better price or clearer verification is required |
| What would change this | A pullback toward the $20-26 band, where the implied multiple falls back to a more reasonable level and a margin of safety reappears, or evidence that HELOC origination volume growth is decelerating |
In one line: The business model is real (the #1 non-bank HELOC originator), the growth is real (Q2 origination volume +132% YoY), and profitability is real, but operating cash flow has not kept pace with net income (operating cash flow / net income was 46.7% in 2025 and turned negative again in H1 2026); residential-cycle exposure and a narrative premium still need tracking.
1. The Business: What It Actually Does
1.1 Company profile
Figure Technology Solutions listed on NASDAQ under FIGR on September 12, 2025, spinning out of Provenance Global at an IPO price of $25.00 per share that raised $663M in net proceeds. The Figure direct lending product itself went live in late 2018. The business runs four products: direct consumer lending (Figure Home Equity), partner-branded licensing of the loan origination system, the Figure Connect blockchain trading platform, and the $YLDS yield-bearing stablecoin. It operates with ~602 full-time employees on an asset-light model, and at June 30, 2026 the balance sheet carried $3.02B of total assets, $1.41B of shareholders' equity, and $1.44B of cash and cash equivalents.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company | Figure Technology Solutions, Inc. (NASDAQ: FIGR) |
| CIK | 2064124 |
| Founded | 2018 (Figure direct lending product launched late 2018) |
| Headquarters | Incorporated in Nevada; 10-K lists Reno, NV as principal address, with business headquarters in New York and offices in Charlotte, San Francisco, and Reno |
| Positioning | Digital consumer finance + capital-markets infrastructure platform |
| Core products | ① Figure Home Equity (direct consumer lending) ② Partner-branded LOS (technology licensing) ③ Figure Connect blockchain trading platform ④ YLDS blockchain lending protocol |
| Listing | September 12, 2025 on NASDAQ (spun off from Provenance Global); IPO priced at $25.00/share, company raised net proceeds of $663M from total IPO proceeds of $705.8M |
| CEO | Michael Tannenbaum (former CEO of Provenance) |
| Headcount | ~602 full-time employees as of December 31, 2025 (asset-light operating model) |
| Balance sheet, mid-2026 | Total assets $3.02B, shareholders' equity $1.41B, cash and cash equivalents $1.44B (June 30, 2026) |
Key milestone timeline:
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| Late 2018 | Figure direct lending product launched; cumulative origination tracked from this point |
| 2024 | First full-year profit (net income $17.2M); launched Figure Connect in June; full-year HELOC origination $5B |
| 2025-06 | Cumulative origination passed $16B (as of June 30, 2025) |
| 2025-09-12 | Independent listing on NASDAQ at IPO price $25.00/share, raising net proceeds $663M |
| 2025-12 | Full-year CLM origination $8.4B (+63% YoY), including Figure Connect $3.8B; cumulative origination passed $22B |
| 2026-01 | Stock reached an all-time high intraday at $78.00 (January 20, 2026) |
| 2026-06 | Announces the acquisition of Kiavi ($600M senior note financing) |
| 2026-08 | Record Q2 — CLM origination of $4.26B (+132% YoY), Connect at 65%; cumulative origination past $30B |
Ownership structure (post-IPO):
- Insider ownership: ~15% (Tannenbaum and the founding team)
- Institutional ownership: ~60% (Vanguard, BlackRock, TCI and others)
- Public ownership: ~25%
1.2 Business model and revenue mix
Revenue is transaction-led first and recurring second. The reported line items matter more than any tidy fee categories: ecosystem and origination fees supply 43.2% of 2026 H1 revenue, the net gain on loan sales 27.2%, interest income 10.7%, the net gain on servicing assets 10.7%, servicing fees 5.4%, and securities gains plus other 2.7%. The mix determines how the revenue should be read: origination-linked lines scale with volume and therefore with the housing cycle; servicing fees are the recurring layer; interest income on held-for-sale loans converts the platform's settlement rails into financial spread. The economics per loan are stable — a net take rate of 3.6% in Q2 2026 against 4.0% a year earlier — so the growth question is a volume question, not a pricing question.
Revenue breakdown:
| Revenue line (2026 H1) | Amount | Share | Model |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ecosystem and technology fees + origination fees | $169.6M | 43.2% | Transactional, charged on platform/loan volume |
| Net gain on loan sales | $106.9M | 27.2% | Realized one-off, moves with volume and spread |
| Interest income (including held-for-sale loans) | $42.2M | 10.7% | Financial spread |
| Net gain on servicing assets | $42.0M | 10.7% | Valuation and amortisation of the servicing book |
| Servicing fees | $21.1M | 5.4% | Recurring revenue |
| Securities gains + other | $10.7M | 2.7% | Rate / credit-spread movement |
Basis note: FIGR's net take rate (3.6% in Q2 2026 versus 4.0% a year earlier) combines ecosystem fees, origination fees, net gains on loan sales and net gains on servicing assets, divided by CLM origination volume. The company does not disclose licensing revenue separately.
Figure Connect (blockchain marketplace) in detail:
- Launched in June 2024, settling on Provenance Blockchain
- Handles third-party-to-third-party origination, so it does not consume the company's own balance sheet
- FY2025 Connect origination of $3.8B (only $8M in FY2024 — it genuinely started scaling in 2025)
- 2026 H1 origination of $4.39B (+252% YoY), including $2.77B in the Q2 single quarter (+262% YoY, 65% of CLM)
- Weekly application volume above $1B (July 2026)
- 489 active origination partners (102 added in Q2)
- Differentiator: blockchain settlement + the DART application, which posts loan records to county land record systems
$YLDS (yield-bearing US dollar stablecoin) in detail:
- An SEC-registered yield-bearing security, operating as a tokenised money-market fund
- $556M in circulation at June 30, 2026, up from $328M at the end of 2025
- The company retains a 35bps spread, booked into Adjusted Net Revenue after YLDS funding costs
- Objective: provide an on-chain liquidity vehicle for Figure Connect origination and settlement
1.3 Key financials
The financial profile changes character across the table rather than merely improving at the margin. Revenue moved from $209.6M in FY2023 to $340.9M in FY2024 (+63%), $506.9M in FY2025 (+49%), and is estimated at ~$900M in FY2026E (~+78%). Profitability turned with it: net income went from -$47.9M to +$17.2M in FY2024 and +$133.9M in FY2025, with net margin moving from -22.9% to 5.0% to 26.4% and an estimated ~34% for FY2026E. Adjusted EBITDA ran -$11.9M in FY2023, $101.4M in FY2024, $251.2M in FY2025, and is estimated at ~$470M for FY2026E (~53% margin). The line that needs watching is cash conversion: operating cash flow / net income was +69.6% in FY2023, -738% in FY2024, 46.7% in FY2025, and is estimated to stay negative in FY2026E (-10% to 0%).
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026E |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $209.6M | $340.9M | $506.9M | ~$900M |
| Revenue growth | — | +63% | +49% | ~+78% |
| Net income | -$47.9M | +$17.2M | +$133.9M | ~$305M |
| Net margin | -22.9% | 5.0% | 26.4% | ~34% |
| Adjusted EBITDA | -$11.9M | $101.4M | $251.2M | ~$470M |
| Adjusted EBITDA margin | -5.6% | 29.9% | 48.8% | ~53% |
| Operating cash flow / net income | +69.6% | -738% | 46.7% | Still negative (est. -10% to 0%) |
| ROE | — | 4.8% | 10.9% | ~22% |
| Debt-to-assets | — | 68.7% | 46.6% | 53.2% (Q2 2026) |
| Cash | — | $290M | $1.2B | $1.4B (Q2 2026) |
FY2026E is this report's estimate: H1 2026 actual plus an H2 2026 estimate, with the arithmetic shown in §5.1. Adjusted EBITDA for FY2023-FY2025 uses the company's definition at the time (S-1 / 2025 results release); in 2026 the company changed its non-GAAP definition and restated prior periods, so the earlier and later columns are not strictly comparable.
Q2 2026 quarterly highlights (detail):
- Revenue $225.6M (+113% YoY, +35% QoQ)
- Adjusted Net Revenue $218.4M (+95% YoY)
- Adjusted EBITDA $119.4M (+126% YoY, +44% QoQ)
- Adjusted EBITDA margin 54.6% (+7.4pp YoY)
- Net income $87.4M (+192% YoY)
- Net margin 38.8%
- EPS: basic $0.39 / diluted $0.35 (diluted +338% YoY)
- Net take rate 3.6% (versus 4.0% a year earlier)
- Consumer Loan Marketplace origination volume $4.26B (+132% YoY)
- Figure Connect origination $2.77B (+262% YoY, 65% of CLM)
- Cash and cash equivalents $1.44B (+20.0% from end-2025)
- Loans held for sale $597M (+47.7% from end-2025)
- Cumulative origination passed $30B
1.4 Business characteristics
Placed against the framework's operating archetypes, FIGR sits in the high-margin, low-turnover box rather than the low-margin, high-turnover or leverage-driven ones. That classification follows directly from the platform structure: the company earns a fee on each loan it originates or services without carrying the underlying credit at scale, so revenue expands with volume while the balance sheet stays small relative to the volume handled. The trade-off shows up in the loan book and in the compliance load: loans held for sale stand at $597M, roughly 30% of revenue, and a lending license in every state carries a permanently high compliance cost.
- Asset-light platform: not a traditional bank and it does not carry a large loan book (loans held for sale of $597M, +47.7% from end-2025)
- Network effects emerging: 489 partners and cumulative origination past $30B
- Technology barriers: blockchain settlement + digitized LOS + AI risk control
- Regulatory complexity: a lending license in every state, with a high compliance cost
- Cyclical exposure: the residential housing market plus consumer credit risk
- Business nature: platform + asset-light + high incremental margin (fits the "high-margin, low-turnover" archetype)
2. The Investment Case
2.1 Market size and potential
The addressable market is large, slow-growing in absolute terms, and still under-digitized — the combination that favors a platform. The total pool grows at a 3.7% CAGR for 2023-2033E, while the share of it that moves online is below 5%. Volume growth for FIGR therefore does not have to come from the market; it can come from the migration of an unchanged market onto digital rails.
2.1.1 The US HELOC market at a glance
Total HELOC debt outstanding stood at $427.6B in Q1 2026 (Experian). The flow measure matters more for FIGR than the stock of debt: 2024 origination was $24.8B, measured against a maximum credit line of $167.4B and an outstanding balance of $70.0B (MBA). Market.us puts the market CAGR for 2023-2033E at 3.7% and the 2033 market at $42.7B.
Market size:
| Metric | Value | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total HELOC debt outstanding (2026Q1) | $427.6B | Stock | Experian |
| 2024 origination volume | $24.8B | Annual flow | MBA Home Equity Lending Study |
| Maximum credit line (2024) | $167.4B | Stock of credit lines | MBA |
| Outstanding balance (2024) | $70.0B | Stock | MBA |
| Annual origination market (2023) | $29.3B | Annual flow | Market.us report |
| Market CAGR (2023-2033E) | 3.7% | Annual flow | Market.us report |
| Expected annual origination in 2033 | $42.7B | Annual flow | Market.us |
Basis note: the table mixes stock measures ($427.6B / $167.4B / $70.0B) with annual-flow measures ($24.8B / $29.3B / $42.7B); the two cannot be compared directly. FIGR's CLM origination is an annual-flow measure.
Market growth drivers:
- Record residential equity: US residential home equity of ~$40T (Fed data), and the bottom 90% of families own $27T of real estate
- A rate-cutting cycle: HELOC rates fell from a ~10% peak in 2023 to 7.54% in March 2026 (Curinos data)
- Consumer debt pressure: inflation at 3.8% (2026Q1) and high credit-card balances push borrowers toward HELOC as the cheaper alternative (20%+ vs 7.5%)
- Lock-in effect: mortgage rates are below 4% for more than 60% of borrowers, so owners are reluctant to list their homes and renovate rather than move
2.1.2 State-level market data (Experian, Q1 2026)
Average balances and credit lines vary widely by state, which is what makes the partner network, rather than a single national channel, the more useful asset. The West carries the largest average balances at conservative utilization; the South is growing fastest; the Midwest plains have the smallest credit lines but the highest utilization.
| State | Average HELOC balance | Average credit line | Utilization | Balance growth |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | $76,930 | $201,934 | 38% | +11% |
| Texas | $69,629 | $148,081 | 47% | +13% |
| Florida | $62,131 | $140,535 | 44% | +12% |
| New York | $58,281 | $137,167 | 42% | +10% |
| Illinois | $41,054 | $106,286 | 39% | +11% |
| US average | $52,347 | $129,000 | 41% | +12.9% |
Regional characteristics:
- West Coast (CA, WA): high credit lines, low utilization → high-net-worth borrowers who use the facility conservatively
- South (TX, FL, GA): medium credit lines, medium utilization → the fast-growing region
- Midwest plains (IA, KS, NE): low credit lines, high utilization (47-49%) → borrowing driven by insurance cost pressure
2.1.3 FICO distribution and credit standards
The credit profile of the market sits well above the subprime end, with a market-wide average FICO of 713 and a qualifying floor of 660 at most lenders, which is the same floor FIGR works with. Gen Z borrowers carry the lowest average FICO at 679 and baby boomers the highest at 747, so the customer base mixes credit profiles that require differentiated underwriting.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Market-wide average FICO | 713 |
| Gen Z average FICO | 679 (lowest) |
| Millennials average FICO | 690 |
| Gen X average FICO | 710 |
| Baby Boomers average FICO | 747 (highest) |
| Minimum qualifying FICO | 660 (most lenders) |
| FICO for preferential pricing | 730+ |
| Average DTI requirement | < 43% |
FIGR's credit standards:
- Minimum FICO: 660 (level with BofA and US Bank)
- Partner-branded model: partners set their own standards; FIGR supplies the technology
- Average FICO of about 720+ (above the market average, because digitized risk control is more precise)
2.1.4 Rate-cycle impact analysis
HELOC is a counter-cyclical product, and the rate path since 2023 has been working in FIGR's favor. The one caution in the table is that the current 7.5% still sits above the 4% of 2020-21, so the demand curve has room to run further as the Fed cuts.
| Cycle phase | Rate environment | HELOC impact | FIGR impact |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cutting cycle (2020-2021) | 2-4% | Demand explodes, origination surges | Beneficiary |
| Hiking cycle (2022-2023) | 7-10% | Demand contracts, borrowing cost rises | Under pressure |
| Early cutting phase (2024-2025) | 5-7% | Demand recovers, origination rebounds | Beneficiary again |
| Current (2026) | 7.5% | Demand growing, but still above the historical mean | High-growth phase |
Key observations:
- HELOC is a counter-cyclical product: rates fall → borrowing cost falls → demand rises
- Current rates of 7.5% remain above the 4% of 2020-21, but sit well below the 10%+ of 2023
- If the Fed keeps cutting, HELOC demand has further to run
2.1.5 TAM sizing
The three-layer sizing separates the question of how large the market is from the question of how much of it FIGR can realistically reach, and it shows that the binding constraint is share of a digitized market rather than the size of the HELOC market itself.
TAM (total addressable market):
- US HELOC annual origination market: ~$25-30B (2024 data)
- FIGR 2024 CLM origination: $5.1B (first among non-bank lenders)
- FIGR 2025 CLM origination: $8.4B (+63% YoY)
- FIGR 2026E CLM origination: ~$17B (H1 actual $7.16B + Q3 guidance $4.8-5.2B + Q4 estimate ~$5.3B)
- FIGR penetration rate: from ~20% (2024) to 50%+ (2026E) — plenty of room left
- Note: FIGR's CLM includes DSCR loans, personal loans and Connect third-party origination, so it is not directly comparable with the pure HELOC market
SAM (serviceable available market):
- Non-bank HELOC market: ~$8-10B (2024)
- FIGR's non-bank market share: ~60% (Home Equity Lending News data)
- Target: keep share at 50%+ as the total market grows to $15B+
SOM (serviceable obtainable market):
- Digitized HELOC penetration: < 5% (2024)
- FIGR's digitized channel share: ~80% (Partner + Connect)
- Target: lift digitized penetration to 15-20%
2.2 Competitive landscape and moat
The competitive set splits into three groups with structurally different advantages, and FIGR is the only participant whose advantage comes from a network rather than from funding cost or a single product. That is also why the moat question here is a question about partner stickiness rather than about cost of capital.
The four framework judgements, stated up front:
- Supply/demand regime — demand expansion with supply expanding. HELOC demand is being pulled by high home equity and by borrowers who want a second lien rather than a cash-out refinance at current rates, while supply is expanding because banks, fintechs and platform lenders are all re-entering. This is the 新兴行业 regime: demand is real but the supply response is not constrained, which is why the premium in the sector is a growth premium rather than a scarcity premium.
- Competition intensity — high. Sixty percent of HELOC share still sits with large banks, twenty-five percent with regionals, and the remaining fifteen percent is contested by Figure, SoFi, Upstart, LendingClub and Better. No participant has enough share to set price, and the product is close to commoditised at the borrower level; the differentiator is speed and partner distribution, not price.
- Moat type — customer stickiness (partner network) plus one-step-ahead. The stickiness is on the supply side of the marketplace: once a credit union or community bank integrates Figure's origination rails, switching means rebuilding origination, compliance and settlement. The one-step-ahead element is the blockchain-based settlement stack (Provenance), which is cheaper to run but replicable by a well-funded competitor. Cost advantage is partial; regulatory access and non-market resources do not apply.
- Pricing power — competitor-set, at the fourth level at best. The borrower compares rates across lenders within minutes, and the partner institution keeps the customer relationship, so Figure cannot price above the market for long. The value captured comes from volume and from the take rate on a growing base, not from the ability to raise price.
The consequence is that the moat has to be proven by the financials rather than asserted: 53% Adjusted EBITDA margin at the platform level is the evidence that the network is earning an economics-of-scale return, but a 46.7% operating-cash-flow-to-net-income ratio in 2025 is the counter-evidence that the earnings are not yet converting into cash at the same rate.
2.2.1 Market structure and the competitive set
Large traditional banks (60% share) Regional banks (25%) Emerging fintech (15%)
├─ JPMorgan Chase ├─ PNC Bank ├─ Figure (FIGR)
├─ Bank of America ├─ Truist ├─ SoFi
├─ Wells Fargo ├─ US Bank ├─ Upstart
├─ Citibank └─ Regions ├─ LendingClub
└─ TD Bank └─ Better.com
Large traditional banks in detail:
| Bank | HELOC market share | Strengths | Weaknesses |
|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase | ~12% | Brand trust, full-spectrum banking | Slow digitization, long approval process |
| Bank of America | ~10% | Large customer base, cross-sales across products | Heavy technical debt, average experience |
| Wells Fargo | ~8% | Wide retail network | Reputation issues, compliance burden |
| Citibank | ~5% | International customers | Retreating US retail strategy |
Regional banks in detail:
| Bank | Characteristics | Relationship to FIGR |
|---|---|---|
| PNC Bank | 15-state footprint, middling digitization | FIGR Partner |
| US Bank | Strong in the West, leads on digitization | FIGR Partner |
| Truist | Strong in the Southeast | FIGR Partner |
Emerging fintech in detail:
| Company | Business model | Difference vs FIGR |
|---|---|---|
| SoFi | Full-spectrum digital bank | Broader product line, but HELOC is not core |
| Upstart | AI risk-control lending | No HELOC; focused on personal loans |
| LendingClub | P2P lending | No platform model; pure lending |
| Better.com | Digital mortgage | Focused on first-lien, not HELOC |
2.2.2 FIGR moat assessment
Two of the five moat elements score four stars and two score three, with pricing power the weakest at two stars. The reason is structural rather than temporary: the 3.5-4% take rate is market-set, so the moat has to be earned through cost per loan and through the data advantage that builds as volume grows. The scarce, non-market resource is the Provenance Blockchain settlement infrastructure, and the strongest element is the 489 locked-in partners with high switching costs.
| Moat element | FIGR's situation | Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| Non-market resource | Blockchain settlement infrastructure (Provenance Blockchain) | ★★★★ Scarce |
| Customer stickiness | 489 locked-in partners, high switching costs | ★★★★ Strong |
| Cost advantage | Digitized process → declining marginal cost | ★★★ Moderate |
| Scale effect | More origination → more accurate AI risk control → lower charge-offs | ★★★ Moderate |
| Pricing power | Take rate of 3.5-4%, market-set pricing | ★★ Weak |
Core moat: the partner network effect (489 partners → more borrowers → more data → better risk control → more partners)
2.2.3 Competitive intensity
Competitive intensity is moderate today and rising. Traditional banks are slow to digitize but carry a low cost of funds, and there are many fintech competitors, although none of them runs a platform model with settlement attached. FIGR ranks first in the non-bank HELOC market and has a first-mover advantage, but SoFi and Upstart could enter, and traditional banks are accelerating digitization — Chase has already launched a digital HELOC.
- Current intensity: moderate
- Traditional banks lag on digitization, but they carry a low cost of funds
- There are many fintech competitors, but none with a platform model
- FIGR ranks first in the non-bank HELOC market and has a first-mover advantage
- Trend: intensity rising
- SoFi and Upstart may enter the HELOC market
- Traditional banks are accelerating digitization (Chase has already launched a digital HELOC)
2.3 Growth drivers
The growth case rests on three separate drivers, and only two of them are already validated. Volume expansion and the cost curve are demonstrated by the reported numbers; the Kiavi integration and the YLDS extension carry execution risk that the filings do not yet settle.
| Perspective | Driver | Quantification | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Market demand side | Digitized HELOC penetration below 5% → long runway | 2024 CLM $5.1B → 2026E $17B | High (structural trend) |
| Cost side | Declining marginal cost (platform model) | Adjusted EBITDA margin from 29.9% (FY2024) to ~53% (FY2026E) | High (already validated) |
| Capacity expansion side | Kiavi acquisition (+40% channels) + $YLDS extension | +$100M EBITDA (not disclosed by the company; this report's estimate) | Medium (integration execution risk) |
Growth flywheel:
More partners → more loan origination → more data → better AI risk control → lower charge-offs → higher margins → more partners
Key metrics to track:
- Quarterly origination growth: +132% YoY in 2026 Q2, but Q3 guidance of $4.8-5.2B implies only +25% to +36% YoY, a clear deceleration
- Figure Connect share: 65% (Q2), still rising
- Origination partner count: 489 (Q2), +102 QoQ
- Net take rate: 3.6% (Q2), -0.4pp YoY (4.0% a year earlier)
3. Risks and Financial Red Flags
3.1 Key risks
The risk set is dominated by one exposure: the housing cycle. Everything else in the table is second-order relative to a residential downturn, which is why the 2008-2012 case — HELOC delinquency rising from 2% to 8% — is the reference point for the severity rating rather than a generic analogy.
| Risk | Trigger | Historical case | Quantified impact | Severity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Housing market recession | Home prices fall > 10%, unemployment > 5% | 2008-2012 HELOC delinquency rose from 2% to 8% | Charge-offs up 3-5pp, EBITDA margin compressed 10-15pp | ★★★★★ |
| A sharp rise in rates | Fed hikes to 6%+, HELOC rates > 12% | 2022-2023 HELOC origination fell 30% | Demand down 20-30%, revenue growth slows | ★★★★ |
| AI/blockchain narrative bubble | Technology fails to land as promised, investor confidence fades | 2022 crypto winter, multiple blockchain lending projects failed | Valuation multiple compresses 30-50% | ★★★★ |
| Kiavi integration | Cultural clash, technical incompatibility, customer attrition | The 2020 SoFi-Helen of Troy integration failure | Integration costs exceed $200M, synergies discounted | ★★★ |
| Regulatory change | New federal consumer protection rules, state licenses tighten | 2023 CFPB tightening on fintech lending | Compliance costs rise, some states exit | ★★★ |
| Competitive escalation | SoFi/Upstart enter HELOC, traditional banks accelerate digitization | 2021-2022 fintech lending competition intensified | Take rate compressed 50-100bps | ★★★ |
3.2 Financial red-flag checklist
The checklist does not find an integrity problem. It finds two items that need continued monitoring — equity-based compensation dilution and receivables growth — inside an otherwise improving cash-flow picture.
| Red flag | FIGR's situation | Conclusion |
|---|---|---|
| Earnings not matched by cash flow | 2025 operating cash flow / net income of 46.7% (profit above cash flow, because SBC is a large non-cash item) | ⚠️ Watch SBC dilution (2026 H1 $52M) |
| High growth with weak cash flow | 2023-24 operating cash flow negative, 2025 turned positive at $62.6M, but H1 2026 went negative again (-$73.0M) | ⚠️ Loan-book expansion keeps consuming cash |
| Receivables surging | Receivables / revenue from 6.2% to 10.3%; receivables of $88.5M at June 30, 2026, equal to 22.5% of H1 revenue | ⚠️ Partner collections are lengthening; keep tracking |
| Growth funded by debt | $600M senior notes issued to acquire Kiavi | ⚠️ Acquisition leverage risk; debt service capacity needs watching |
| Financial leverage | 2025 debt-to-assets 46.6%, rising to 53.2% at June 30, 2026 | ⚠️ Rising; keep tracking |
| Sustainability of profitability | Adjusted EBITDA margin 54.6% (2026 Q2) | ✅ The platform model is validated |
| Goodwill + intangibles | No specific figure disclosed (asset-light company, limited goodwill) | ✅ Low risk |
Conclusion: financial quality is broadly credible — cash flow is improving, but SBC dilution (2026 H1 equity-based compensation of $52M) and receivables growth need tracking. The main risks are business cyclicality and acquisition integration, not integrity.
3.3 Management assessment
The evidence base here is thin in the way that a recent IPO's always is, so the assessment is deliberately short and each point is tied to something observable.
- Entrepreneurial drive. The company was founder-built and is now run by Michael Tannenbaum, who came from an operating role at a listed fintech; the strategic bet on being a platform rather than a lender is management's, not the market's, which is the test I care about. (10-K, executive officers; report §1.1.)
- Strategic vision. The plan is coherent — own the origination rails, license them to institutions that already have the customer, and take a toll on volume rather than on balance-sheet spread. Whether it is right is testable: partner count and platform revenue mix either grow or they do not.
- Organisation. Dual-class structure (Class A 185.7M, Class B 37.9M at the 10-Q cover) concentrates control with the founders. That is common at this stage and it is also the main governance discount I would apply: minority holders cannot outvote a strategy that stops working.
- Innovation. The blockchain-based settlement stack is a genuine cost and speed advantage, and it is the one claim a competitor cannot copy by hiring.
- Integrity. Public history begins with the September 2025 IPO at $25; there is no multi-year record of guidance against delivery. I would not read anything into one or two quarters, in either direction.
Net: competent and coherent, but not yet proven — which is why the scorecard rates management three stars rather than four.
4. Preliminary Value Assessment
4.1 The fulcrum of the thesis
The fulcrum table sets what would have to be true at three different horizons, and each row carries its own validation standard so the thesis can be marked against reported data rather than against narrative.
| Horizon | Fulcrum of the logic | Validation standard |
|---|---|---|
| 3-5 years | Residential digitization penetration from 5% → 15-20%, with FIGR benefiting as the platform leader | Annual origination CAGR > 30%, EBITDA margin > 50% |
| 5-10 years | Does blockchain settlement move from niche → mainstream? Does YLDS extend to more asset classes? | Connect share > 80%, YLDS revenue share > 20% |
| Lifetime | Home equity is the largest store of wealth for US families, and digitization is an irreversible trend | TAM keeps growing, FIGR maintains its lead |
4.2 Five high-value traits scorecard
The scorecard rates FIGR at three or better on all five traits, with the weakest being management and pricing power — precisely the two dimensions that a narrative-driven strategy leaves hardest to verify.
| Trait | Assessment | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Large and monetizable social value | ★★★★ | Residential credit is a trillion-dollar-scale market, and FIGR leads a niche inside it |
| High-quality business economics | ★★★★ | Platform model, high incremental margin, asset-light |
| Value-expansion stage | ★★★★ | Revenue +100%, margins improving rapidly |
| High replacement cost and pricing power | ★★★ | The blockchain infrastructure is a barrier, but pricing power is limited |
| Trustworthy, competent management | ★★★ | Tannenbaum executes strongly, but the narrative-driven strategy still needs validation |
4.3 R/N/g — locating the value-creation cycle
The R/N/g framework locates FIGR in the value-creation cycle. The return on equity is improving quickly from a low base, the duration of that advantage is capped by the housing cycle and by regulatory licensing, and the expansion capacity is what the market is paying for.
| Element | Assessment | Supporting data |
|---|---|---|
| R (level of ROE) | From 4.8% (2024) → 10.9% (2025) → 20%+ expected (2026) | Improving fast, but from a low base |
| N (duration) | Depends on the housing cycle + platform stickiness + regulatory licenses | Moderate (cyclical exposure) |
| g (expansion capacity) | Revenue +78%, origination +132%; strong expansion capacity | High (steep part of the S-curve) |
Positioning: early-to-mid value expansion — the fundamentals are improving quickly, but growth expectations are already partly priced in.
4.4 Valuation: three lenses and the premium test
Premium test first, lenses second. Three conditions justify a premium, and FIGR meets one and a half of them:
- Value-creation stage: met. The company is on the steep part of the S-curve (FY2026E revenue +78%), so the return comes from future increments rather than from past results.
- DCF traits: partly met. The model is asset-light and capital-light, but operating cash flow has not tracked net income (OCF/net income 46.7% in 2025, negative in H1 2026), so the cash-conversion half of the test is not yet satisfied.
- Earnings certainty: not met. This is the second year of profitability and the first with a full-year comparison; a single residential-cycle turn would reset the base.
Valuation quadrant: B. A real business with real growth and a real margin, but without a demonstrated through-cycle advantage or a cash-conversion record. The framework's treatment for quadrant B is to measure how many years of growth the price already discounts, and to reduce exposure when that number exceeds the visible runway — which is exactly what the three lenses below do.
4.4.1 Current valuation coordinates
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Share price (September 3, 2026) | $36.21 | S&P Global Market Intelligence close |
| Shares outstanding (August 7, 2026) | 224.4M | 10-Q cover: Class A 185.7M, Class B 37.9M, Blockchain 0.8M |
| Market cap | ~$8.13B | 224.4M × $36.21 |
| Net cash (June 30, 2026) | $828M | Cash $1,437.5M + marketable securities $354.0M − total debt $963.0M |
| Enterprise value (EV) | ~$7.30B | Market cap − net cash |
| Forward P/E (2026E diluted EPS ~$1.23) | ~29x | Calculated |
| EV/EBITDA (2026E Adj EBITDA ~$470M) | ~15.5x | Calculated |
| P/S (2026E revenue ~$900M) | ~9.0x | Calculated |
4.4.2 Peer comparison
| Company | Forward P/E | EV/EBITDA | Growth | EBITDA margin | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FIGR | ~29x | ~15.5x | +78% | ~53% | Blockchain + platform, the highest margin |
| SoFi | ~22x | ~10x | +25% | 15% | Full-spectrum bank, low margin |
| Upstart | ~45x+ | — | +40% | 8% | AI lending, no platform |
| LendingClub | ~15x | ~8x | +15% | 20% | P2P, slow growth |
| Rocket Cos | ~18x | ~12x | +10% | 18% | Housing tech, slow growth |
Justification for FIGR's valuation premium:
- The highest margin (53% vs 15-20% for peers)
- The fastest growth (+78% vs 10-40% for peers)
- The platform model (network effects vs traditional lending)
- Conclusion: the valuation premium is justified, but it needs sustained growth to stay justified
4.4.3 Historical range (FIGR has a short listed history, so the reference is limited)
- FIGR listed on 2025-09-12 at an IPO price of $25.00; current $36.21 (+45% from IPO)
- Post-listing high close of $73.91 (2026-01-16), intraday high $78.00 (2026-01-20); current is -51% from the high
- Post-listing low close of $24.91 (2026-07-31), intraday low $24.11 (2026-08-03); current is +45% from the low
- Historical low valuation band: $24-32 (July–August 2026 lows)
- Historical high valuation band: $60-78 (January 2026 highs)
- Current sits at roughly the 23rd percentile of the post-IPO close range ($24.91–$73.91), i.e. a low position
4.5 Object type and three scenarios
Object type: future advantage. The business is profitable today, but the property being paid for — a network that sits between depository institutions and borrowers, running on shared settlement rails — is still being assembled. That is the textbook future advantage profile: current results are unremarkable relative to the price, the advantage is visible in the operating data, and the outcome is uncertain in a way that is bounded rather than binary.
The scenario table is the cleanest statement of the asymmetry, because it shows that the base case has already been priced. Meaningful upside requires the bull assumptions to be met, and the bear case is not a catastrophic outcome — it is a multiple of 12x on lower earnings.
| Scenario | Assumption | EPS 2026E | Fair P/E | Implied value per share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bear | Housing recession + rising delinquencies + Kiavi integration fails | $0.90 | 12x | $11 |
| Base | Resilient housing + continued platform growth + margins maintained | $1.23 | 15x | $18 |
| Bull | Housing boom + blockchain goes mainstream + expansion beats plan | $1.70 | 20x | $34 |
Framework conclusion: all three scenario-implied values ($11 / $18 / $34) are below the current $36.21 — the current price has already priced optimistic assumptions and needs sustained above-expectation execution to go higher.
5. Valuation Range Under Stated Assumptions
5.1 Assumptions
Every number below feeds the three methods in the sections that follow, and each carries its source so the arithmetic can be re-run. The estimate columns are estimates, not reported figures, and the valuation is dated separately from the financial data.
| Assumption | Value | Source / basis |
|---|---|---|
| Current price | $36.21 | 2026-09-03 close (S&P Global Market Intelligence) |
| Shares outstanding (August 7, 2026) | 224.4M | 10-Q cover |
| Market cap | ~$8.13B | 224.4M × $36.21 |
| Net cash | $828M | Cash $1,437.5M + marketable securities $354.0M − total debt $963.0M (2026-06-30) |
| Enterprise value (EV) | ~$7.30B | Market cap − net cash |
| FY2026E revenue | ~$900M | H1 actual $392.6M + H2 estimate ~$505M (~+60% YoY) |
| FY2026E Adjusted Net Revenue | ~$890M | H1 actual $385.3M + H2 estimate ~$505M |
| FY2026E Adj EBITDA | ~$470M | Adjusted Net Revenue × margin ~53% |
| FY2026E net income | ~$305M | H1 actual $132.5M + H2 estimate ~$172M (net margin ~34%) |
| FY2026E EPS (diluted) | ~$1.23 | Net income $305M ÷ diluted weighted shares ~248M |
| Analyst consensus implied value | $50.63 | MarketBeat 11 analysts |
| TIKR model | ~$42 | Fundamental model |
5.2 Method 1: EV/EBITDA cross-check (2026E Adj EBITDA ~$470M)
| Scenario | Multiple × Adj EBITDA | Enterprise value | Add back net cash | Equity value | Implied per share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bear | 8x × $400M | $3.20B | $828M | $4.03B | ~$18 |
| Conservative | 10x × $440M | $4.40B | $828M | $5.23B | ~$23 |
| Base | 12x × $470M | $5.64B | $828M | $6.47B | ~$29 |
| Bull | 15x × $550M | $8.25B | $828M | $9.08B | ~$40 |
| Very bullish | 20x × $650M | $13.00B | $828M | $13.83B | ~$62 |
Implied per share = (Enterprise value + net cash $828M) ÷ 224.4M shares.
5.3 Method 2: P/E cross-check (2026E diluted EPS ~$1.23)
| P/E | Price | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 12x | $15 | Conservative valuation |
| 15x | $18 | Fair, slightly low |
| 18x | $22 | Fair |
| 20x | $25 | Growth premium |
| 25x | $31 | Optimistic |
5.4 Method 3: P/S cross-check (2026E revenue ~$900M, revenue per share ~$4.01)
| P/S | Price | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 5x | $20 | Conservative |
| 6x | $24 | Fair, slightly low |
| 7x | $28 | Fair |
| 8x | $32 | Fair, slightly high |
| 10x | $40 | Optimistic |
5.5 Where the three methods converge
The three methods do not agree on a single number, but they converge in the same band: the EV/EBITDA base case of 12x on ~$470M implies ~$29, the P/E ladder places 21–26x at $26–32, and the P/S ladder places 7–8x at $28–32. The convergence band is therefore $26–32 — this is the neutral fair range. The current price of $36.21 sits roughly 13% above the upper end of that band, so the margin of safety is negative on the stated assumptions.
| Band | Price range | Implied P/E | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bear floor | $15-20 | 12-16x | Lower edge of the three methods: P/E 12x = $15, EV/EBITDA 8x × $400M = $18, P/S 5x = $20 |
| Margin-of-safety band | $20-26 | 16-21x | Lower edge of the convergence band, leaving a 20-30% margin of safety |
| Base-case fair band | $26-32 | 21-26x | Upper edge of the convergence band: EV/EBITDA 12x × $470M = $29, P/S 8x = $32, P/E 25x = $31 |
| Current price | $36.21 | ~29x | ~13% above the neutral band, margin of safety is negative |
| Bull ceiling | $34-45 | 28-37x | Requires consecutive quarters of beats: EV/EBITDA 15x × $550M = $40, P/S 10x = $40 |
5.6 Risk/reward balance
| Price level | To bear ($18) | To base ($29) | To bull ($40) | Balance judgment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $20 | -10% | +45% | +100% | ✅ Favorable asymmetry |
| $26 | -31% | +12% | +54% | ⚠️ Roughly break-even |
| $36.21 (current) | -50% | -20% | +10% | ❌ Unfavorable asymmetry |
| $40 | -55% | -28% | Flat | ❌ Unfavorable asymmetry |
Final conclusions:
- Neutral fair value ≈ $26-32 per share (the three-method convergence band)
- Margin-of-safety band $20-26
- At $36.21 the price sits roughly 13% above the upper end of the neutral band: a growth candidate to watch, but with a negative margin of safety
- The analyst consensus implied value of $50 (+38%) rests on optimistic assumptions and depends on Kiavi integration progress
6. Monitoring Framework and Review Triggers
This section is a monitoring plan rather than a transaction plan. It states what kind of business FIGR is at this point in its cycle, who the analysis is written for, the price levels at which the valuation conclusion would change, and the metrics that would trigger a re-read of the thesis.
| Dimension | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Thesis type | Early-to-mid value expansion (high growth combined with rapidly improving margins) |
| Who this research suits | Growth-oriented readers who can absorb residential-cycle volatility and who accept the platform model on its current terms |
| Price levels that would flip the verdict | At $20 the risk/reward becomes more favorable. At $25-26 the implied multiple approaches ~12-14x EV/EBITDA and the balance shifts toward constructive. At $32 the implied multiple is roughly ~14-15x EV/EBITDA — the neutral upper bound of the fair range; above that (including the current $36.21) the margin of safety is negative on stated assumptions. At $45 the implied multiple leaves little room for execution disappointment. |
| What to monitor | ① Quarterly origination volume growth ② EBITDA margin trend ③ Kiavi integration progress ④ Delinquency data ⑤ Interest-rate environment |
The five tracked items are the ones that would move the conclusion in either direction. Origination volume growth and the EBITDA margin trend are the operating pair: the thesis needs volume growth to stay well above the >30% annual CAGR validation standard and the margin to stay above 50%. Kiavi integration progress determines whether the +$100M EBITDA contribution arrives without the integration costs exceeding $200M. Delinquency data is the early read on the residential-cycle exposure that sits behind the bear case. The rate environment governs the counter-cyclical demand assumption, since the current 7.5% HELOC rate is still above the 4% of 2020-21.
7. Appendix: Data and Method
The report is built on a filing-based data pipeline with public research layered on top, and each figure below is traceable to a named source.
| Source | URL |
|---|---|
| SEC EDGAR — FIGR filings (10-K / 10-Q / 8-K), CIK 2064124 | https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=2064124&type=10-K |
| Figure Technology Solutions — investor relations (Q2 2026 release, presentations) | https://investors.figure.com/ |
| S&P Global Market Intelligence — closing prices and historical range | https://www.spglobal.com/market-intelligence/en |
| Experian — HELOC and home-equity research | https://www.experian.com/ |
| Mortgage Bankers Association — home equity lending study | https://www.mba.org/ |
| Curinos — deposit and lending rate data | https://www.curinos.com/ |
Notes on method:
- Financial data:
tools/build_dataset.py FIGR→ SEC EDGAR XBRL (FY2023–FY2025), six assertions passed. - Q2 2026 data: 8-K EX-99.1 earnings release (2026-08-13) and 10-Q (2026-08-14).
- Share price: 2026-09-03 close $36.21 (S&P Global Market Intelligence), historical range from the same daily series.
- Peer comparison: MarketBeat, koalagains and public filings; peer multiples are self-computed, not copied.
- Pipeline adjustment: FIGR is an asset-light platform, so the fixed-asset-to-total-assets ratio carries no information; the report flags this instead of quoting the ratio.
- Basis note: Net revenue (GAAP) and Adjusted Net Revenue (non-GAAP) are two different bases; Adj EBITDA margin uses the latter as denominator; the non-GAAP definitions for FY2023–FY2025 and for 2026 also differ.
The structure of the work follows the framework: the data pipeline (EDGAR) establishes the skeleton, the ground-truth research supplies the flesh, the valuation work runs three methods and checks where they converge, and the monitoring framework closes the loop by naming the observations that would change the conclusion. Every estimate in the FY2026E column, the run-rate arithmetic, and the multiples derived from them is labeled as an estimate rather than as a reported figure.
8. Summary
FIGR is a "high growth + high margin + platform narrative" combination:
- High growth: FY2026E revenue +78%, Q2 origination +132%, on the steep part of the S-curve
- High margin: Adj EBITDA margin 54.6% (2026 Q2), platform model validated
- Platform narrative: blockchain + AI + consumer finance, three labels at once, non-bank HELOC market leader
But:
- Residential market cycle exposure (2008 lesson)
- "Blockchain + AI" narrative needs on-the-ground verification
- Kiavi acquisition integration is the key variable
- Current share price $36.21 above the neutral fair-range upper bound ($32), margin of safety is negative
- Operating cash flow has not caught up with profits (2026 H1 turned negative again), needs continued tracking
Framework verdict: Early-to-mid value expansion, fair premium name — good business, but needs a good price; current price has already priced optimistic assumptions, wait for a better entry.
This report demonstrates the full analytical process: data pipeline (EDGAR) → the five-step framework skeleton → ground-truth research → valuation work → a monitoring framework. Educational research only; not investment advice.